Back to Life

What does an 80’s song have to do with real estate?  Not much, really. 

But the past two months I’ve been absent from this blog, due to my Mom’s passing in May – and the lengthy, family chaos that surrounds an unsigned will. 

I just returned from a trip to Nebraska where I was able to take care of all of her things.  As I feel the peace of knowing her love is with me, picking up the pieces of things neglected… this song came to mind…along with memories of huge shoulder pads, crazy hair-do’s, loud colors (ok, I still wear loud colors – just not as much orange) and wearing different wild earrings in each ear. 
(Click on the photo and enjoy!…go ahead and dance – no one’s watching )

Yes.... I'm "Back to Life"

Yes.... I'm "Back to Life"

So – what’s going on now? 

The Kauai foreclosure and short sale market is hotter than ever.  During this time, I have two new short sale listings and closed the sale of a home in Princeville that no one thought could be done.  It had been listed as a short sale by another agency for a very long time, and the “word” out in the real estate community was that the banks were not negotiable and a sale would be impossible.  However, with buyers through HawaiiLife, we were able to overcome all obstacles and close the sale in May.

Just Listed!  Two New Short Sale Condo listings in Princeville.

I’ll post additional foreclosure news and statistics in another blog entry – but by all indications…we’re in a “sweet spot” time of the market.  No one can call the peak, or the bottom…but we are in a period of time where luxurious properties are available at distressed prices.  Just how long that will last – no one knows.   But if you want to buy a luxury distressed property, now is the time to be on top of the market, and write offers ( in my opinion..).

But..what am I doing for you??

In order to provide you the best possible service, I continue to invest in my professional education….

  • I’m completing my CDPE (Certified Distressed Property Expert) designation giving me additional training on serving the distressed property market, along with opening a national network of resources to go to with questions, etc.
  • At the same time, I’m completing myABR (Accredited Buyers Representative) and GRI (Graduate Realty Institute) designations.  The GRI is like an undergraduate degree in residentail real estate.  I’ve been working on this for several years (courses are few and far between on the island).

But what about the properties??? 
In order to help you fully explore the Kauai Short Sale and Foreclosure market…be sure to be on my mailing list for:

  • Short Sale Seminars on Kauai – Stay tuned….I will be hosting several Short Sale seminars on Kauai in the coming 6 weeks. 
  • Webinars analyzing distressed properties– very soon, I’ll be hosting regular webinars providing detailed financial analysis of my “top pick” of distressed properties in each of the main Kauai market areas.  

Please let me know how I can help you, and be sure to contact me and sign up for my mailing list – I’ll keep you updated. 

To make it easy – receive my blog posts via email.

About Susanna "Susie" Kunkel, RA

With a belief that life is too short to not follow your dreams, Susie and her daughter became new Kauai residents in less than 4 months after visiting for the first time in 2000. She brings a wealth of information from her background in administrative, contract and paralegal work in a variety of industries including technology, investment banking, biotech and estate planning. As a Realtor, Susies's tenacious and technical approach have earned her a large group of extremely loyal clients. Susanna is a steadfast believer in "The Golden Rule", and applies it to her approach as a Realtor. "Each client and each property are unique, so it's important to me to listen intently to what my clients' goals are, and to make sure I go above and beyond to help meet them."
This entry was posted in Kauai foreclosures, Short Sales and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

