Anal and Honest Realtor? Why thank you!

Legal Actions

Legal Actions - Oh My!

This week I had a new experience – representing a first-time   in Legal Mediation action against Sellers who are commercial Realtors from Oahu representing themselves.  It’s a long sordid story, and I could probably script a new A&E show – “Realtors Behaving Badly.” 

Although I had scary visions of court rooms, gavels and black mumus – we met at a conference room in a local attorney’s office.  Our mediator was a retired Judge who showed up in his beat-up pickup, and wore jeans and his aloha shirt.  The sellers didn’t even bother to come, wouldn’t even cooperate with their attorney and were only present on the phone.  Needless to say – we didn’t reach any agreement.

While we were outside the conference room, my client’s attorney (who is well respected as one of the toughest on island) commented to the Judge that I was “anal” – and that we had everything documented in detail.  I told him- “I’ll take that as a compliment!”  As we discussed the market, this same attorney asked my opinion (after commenting that Realtors are generally full of ____).   I gave him the same overview that I give my buyers..and he said, “Wow, an honest Realtor.”

Not sure “Honest and Anal” is really the branding I want to use….but given the circumstances and the source, I’ll take it as a high compliment! 🙂

About Susanna "Susie" Kunkel, RA

With a belief that life is too short to not follow your dreams, Susie and her daughter became new Kauai residents in less than 4 months after visiting for the first time in 2000. She brings a wealth of information from her background in administrative, contract and paralegal work in a variety of industries including technology, investment banking, biotech and estate planning. As a Realtor, Susies's tenacious and technical approach have earned her a large group of extremely loyal clients. Susanna is a steadfast believer in "The Golden Rule", and applies it to her approach as a Realtor. "Each client and each property are unique, so it's important to me to listen intently to what my clients' goals are, and to make sure I go above and beyond to help meet them."
This entry was posted in Buying a home, Housing market, Kauai market updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

