Top 5 most dangerous myths about Kauai foreclosures

How To Avoid Foreclosure was the theme at the recent Contractors Assocation of Kauai Housing Fair, where I was asked to speak by the Kauai Board of Realtors.

To get started, Bloomberg.com gives a good overview of options available to avoid foreclosure in the following video report;

“What you don’t know about foreclosure can hurt you” was the topic of my presentation.  Myths and misunderstandings about foreclosure add confusion to a scary situation.  Information is powerful; however misinformation can be damaging.   The first step in moving forward, is to address the….

Top 5 most dangerous myths about foreclosure;

  1. I can just walk away; often referred to as a “Strategic Default,” many people think they can just walk away from the property and let the lender have it.  While this may sound attractive emotionally, the lender will foreclose and you’ll face either a 1099 from the lender, or a deficiency judgment.   It’s very important to work through your situation and find the best possible solution.  Sometimes people have moved on, and years later face ugly collection efforts from their previous lender after their financial situation improved.
  2. If my house is in foreclosure, I have to move out right away; it may be uncomfortable, but your best option is to stay in your home as long as possible.  Whether trying for a loan modification or a short sale, lenders will be more negotiable if you are living in the home.  Also, there are mortgage clauses that state if the property is “abandoned” the lender can escalate the foreclosure process. Even if you choose to allow the foreclosure to go through, many lenders offer “cash for keys” to homeowners instead of an eviction. Use this time to prepare your move.
  3. Once the foreclosure is over, the bank can’t collect on the loss; many articles on the internet are confusing due to the fact that state laws vary.  Some states have non-recourse foreclosures where the lender doesn’t come after the deficiency (or loss) after the foreclosure is finished.  However, Hawaii is a recourse state.  The lender will either issue a 1099 on the loss, which the IRS recognizes as income, or they will reserve the right to pursue a deficiency judgment, trying to collect on the balance of their loss. 

    The Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Act of 2007 provides a means for homeowners to be exempt from that tax if it’s your primary residence or you can prove insolvency.  Please consult your CPA. 

  4. If I have a Non-Judicial foreclosure, the lender can’t go after the deficiency; this is incorrect and a common misunderstanding, even among professionals.  They aren’t as likely to since they have to file a motion to pursue it.  But unless they issue a written release of this right – it remains a possibility, and could haunt you years later.
  5. Lenders aren’t pursuing deficiencies now, so I don’t have to worry; Unfortunately, I’ve heard that people have been told this by trusted professionals.  While lenders may not be pursuing deficiencies now due to their overload of distressed properties, there are attorneys and credit collection companies gearing up for the next market opportunity – debt collections from foreclosures.  

The 2nd and 3rd part of the presentation follow;

For more free and confidential information about how short sales work, please visit www.KauaiHelp.com or feel free to call or email me at any time. I’m here to help.

About Susanna Kunkel

Susanna Kunkel is an experienced realtor you can trust. Her mix of business expertise with her artistic mindset allows her to provide creative solutions in any real estate transaction. Her edge over other realtors is all about marketing. Using smart, strategic, targeted marketing and skilled, creative negotiations she yields her clients successful results. With 15 years of experience selling luxury real estate, she treats all her clients with the same high dollar mentality whether it’s a multi-million dollar estate, first property, or an investment. If you want a knowledgeable realtor who will work for you, contact Susanna.
This entry was posted in How To, Kauai foreclosures, Short Sales and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top 5 most dangerous myths about Kauai foreclosures

  1. Heya! I know this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established website like yours take a large amount of work?
    I’m brand new to operating a blog however I do write in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able
    to share my personal experience and feelings online.

    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or
    tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  2. I am starting up a new online website directory and was wondering if I
    can submit your blog? I’m hoping to increase my directory little by little by hand so that it maintains top quality. I will make sure and put your website in the appropriate category and I’ll additionally use, “Top 5 most dangerous myths about Kauai foreclosures | Kauai Real Estate Blog” as your anchor text.
    Be sure to let me know if this is acceptable with you by e-mailing me at: rosalieguffey@aol.

    com. Thanks

  3. Effie says:

    I’m not sure exactly why but this website is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later
    and see if the problem still exists.

  4. I have visited your blog for the first time and found it a well organized blog. thanks for sharing

  5. Marjorie says:

    I’m starting a new online website directory and was wondering if I can submit your site? I’m
    trying to mature my directory little by little by hand so that it retains high quality.
    I will make sure and put your blog in the proper category and I’ll also use, “Top 5 most dangerous myths about Kauai foreclosures | Kauai Real Estate Blog” as your anchor text. Please make sure to let me know if this is acceptable with you by contacting me at: marjoriemendez@gmail.com. Many thanks

  6. My name is Charles, I found your blog doing a quick internet search. We started a new social networking site that helps address foreclosure issue that I believe you would be interested in and hopefully can share to your readers. Can you check out the site (semi-private beta), and/or send me an email to the address I provided? Thanks! Would love to chat! I am also on twitter we can share something!

    ~Charles
    /realestatefeeds

Leave a comment